Awards & Officers/Directors for 2014-15

At the June dinner meeting, all officers were sworn in by PDG Wayne Bowden.  They are as follows: President – John Menken; Secretary – Pat Strickland; Treasurer – Joe Keegan; First Vice-President – Jen Williams; Board of Directors — Don Trudeau, Jack Weinmann, Sally Sibulkin, and Mike Lancor; Membership Chair — Kate Lancor; Lion Tamer – Pat Keegan; Tail Twister – Anne Forts; Bicentennial Trustees:  Marion Powers (Chair), Pat Strickland, Sally Sibulkin.

new officers

Also at the meeting five Moultonborough Lions who have died this past year were remembered:  Ed Dobson, Barbara Conery, MaryAnn Weinman, Pat Eastman, and Jim Zelek.

In addition to perfect attendance pins to several members, three awards were presented:

The Good Shepherd Award to Naomi Strickland.

The Lion of the Year Award to Marion Powers.

And the prestigious Melvin Jones Award to Joe Keegan.

Melvin Jones -14


Melvin Jones Honorees

Lions Clubs worldwide recognize outstanding individual members by bestowing on them an award named for the founder of Lionism, Melvin Jones.  This award is the highest form of recognition and embodies humanitarian ideas consistent with the nature and purpose of Lionism.  The recipient of this award, chosen by past honorees is a model of exemplary service to his club and the community which it serves.

We are proud to have within our past and current membership at least eight individuals who have received the Melvin Jones Fellowship Award.  Pictured below are Mike Lancor (’11), Betty Wasson, and in the group photo (from left to right): Ed Dobson, Pat Strickland, Jim Guppy, Bob Purdy, Charlie Strickland and George Costello.

Lancor_Mike'11  Wasson_Marion