Induction of New Officers and Award Recipients

At the June 15, 2015 dinner meeting, 1st Vice District Governor Elect, Al Goldstein inducted the 2015-2016 new slate of officers: President Jeni Williams, Vice-President Mark Cotrupi, 2nd Vice-President Peter Strople (who was unable to attend the meeting), Treasurer Joe Keegan, Secretary Sally Sibulkin, Membership Chairman Dawn Law, Tail Twister Anne Forts and Lion Tamer Pat Keegan…

And the following AWARDS were presented — not all the recipients received the “real” plaque, however.  Some were in the mail, so with some quick thinking on behalf of some of the officers a paper copy was awarded




Loyal Shepherd Fellowship (FIDELCO)Ed and Sandy Meskys…for dedicated service in all aspects of assistance for the blind

Granite State Awards Patricia Keegan…for her exceptional service to the citizens of the State of New Hampshire; a true humanitarian, and an untiring worker for the Moultonborough Lions and community.                                    and…

Don Trudeau…for his volunteer service at LRGHealthcare, the Boston Marathon, Squam Lake, and the Meredith Rotary as will as all he accomplishes with the Lions.

Lion of the YearJohn Menken…who quickly and competently stepped up to the leadership “plate” and, as president, led the Club in many new projects and served as a calming and positive figure.

Melvin Jones FellowJack Weinmann – for his positive dedication, his humanitarian services, and his willingness to serve others.

Retiring Secretary Award for Pat Strickland for her note-taking and record keeping talents and her dedication to Lionism.

Awards & Officers/Directors for 2014-15

At the June dinner meeting, all officers were sworn in by PDG Wayne Bowden.  They are as follows: President – John Menken; Secretary – Pat Strickland; Treasurer – Joe Keegan; First Vice-President – Jen Williams; Board of Directors — Don Trudeau, Jack Weinmann, Sally Sibulkin, and Mike Lancor; Membership Chair — Kate Lancor; Lion Tamer – Pat Keegan; Tail Twister – Anne Forts; Bicentennial Trustees:  Marion Powers (Chair), Pat Strickland, Sally Sibulkin.

new officers

Also at the meeting five Moultonborough Lions who have died this past year were remembered:  Ed Dobson, Barbara Conery, MaryAnn Weinman, Pat Eastman, and Jim Zelek.

In addition to perfect attendance pins to several members, three awards were presented:

The Good Shepherd Award to Naomi Strickland.

The Lion of the Year Award to Marion Powers.

And the prestigious Melvin Jones Award to Joe Keegan.

Melvin Jones -14


June Dinner Meeting

At last week’s June dinner meeting –delicious pot roast — the new officers were installed for the 2013-2014 year.  Sandy Meskys has “retired” from her six years as treasurer and was awarded a plaque for her dedicated service and putting up with all the difficulties associated with that office.  Also honored were Bob and Elaine Zewski who received the Lions of the Year Award for all that they contribute to the Club, especially the many hours spent on the raffle, our major fundraiser. ( I apologize for the fuzzy photo of the Zewskis.)

new officers:board      Sandy Meskys honored

Lions of the Year





Lion of the Year

The Lion of the Year award is chosen by the club president and is a great honor to those members who receive it.  Just some of the criteria used in selecting candidates are:  participation in activities, membership development, programs, committees, and the community, serving as an officer, dependability, sincerity of purpose, positive attitude and leadership, plus demonstrated abilities in communication and organization.

Two of the most recent recipients of this honor are Joe Keegan and Joe Quaresima shown below.

Keegan_Joe   Quaresima_Joe