Years of Lionism

At the May dinner meeting, two Lions from the Moultonborough Club were given pins honoring their years as Lions.  To the right of club president, Ed Meskys, is Jerry Donovan, celebrating 10 years of membership.  To the left of Ed and being honored for 38 years as a Lion is Ray Putnam.


Lion of the Year

The Lion of the Year award is chosen by the club president and is a great honor to those members who receive it.  Just some of the criteria used in selecting candidates are:  participation in activities, membership development, programs, committees, and the community, serving as an officer, dependability, sincerity of purpose, positive attitude and leadership, plus demonstrated abilities in communication and organization.

Two of the most recent recipients of this honor are Joe Keegan and Joe Quaresima shown below.

Keegan_Joe   Quaresima_Joe

Melvin Jones Honorees

Lions Clubs worldwide recognize outstanding individual members by bestowing on them an award named for the founder of Lionism, Melvin Jones.  This award is the highest form of recognition and embodies humanitarian ideas consistent with the nature and purpose of Lionism.  The recipient of this award, chosen by past honorees is a model of exemplary service to his club and the community which it serves.

We are proud to have within our past and current membership at least eight individuals who have received the Melvin Jones Fellowship Award.  Pictured below are Mike Lancor (’11), Betty Wasson, and in the group photo (from left to right): Ed Dobson, Pat Strickland, Jim Guppy, Bob Purdy, Charlie Strickland and George Costello.

Lancor_Mike'11  Wasson_Marion